ODE TO CAYE CAULKER

I found the following poem while in Caye Caulker and want to share it because it sums up the experience eloquently.

…Ode to Caye Caulker…by Michael E. Maddison

“A narrow strip of ancient sand, close to a legendary Mayan land

The trade wind sweeps this pleasant isle, the island’s motto makes you smile

“Go Slow” it says when you disembark, the pace of play from dawn to dark

The blue sea beckons inside the reef, full of nature’s bounty, beyond belief.

With fins and snorkle it does amaze, as you swim and dive with sharks and rays.

Whether sailing, snorkeling or tying hooks, wining, dining or reading books.

Caye Cauulker waits with quiet allure, it gets in you blood, that’s for sure.

From friendly natives with quiet smiles, wish willies, iguanas, even crocodiles.

The days drift by it seems such a sin, to sit drinking One Barrel and Belikin.

As the world speeds by at a frantic pace, I sit here contented,
with a smile on my face.

The palm trees rustle, with a seaside sound, I’m enjoying my time in Paradise found.

When I leave and walk the plank, after visiting shops, and then the bank,

I’m sure I’ll stop and count the cost…

…a I leave this place – Paradise Lost.”

 

Next: More about Belize

One thought on “ODE TO CAYE CAULKER

Leave a Reply

